The First Church in Town
Rooted in a rich history with a hope-filled eye on the future, Bedford Presbyterian Church is a gathering place for all seeking a deeper connection with the Holy at the heart of all life. We are not just a gathering place, though. We are sending people who are sent out into the world to love God and love their neighbor. You are welcome here!
Bedford Presbyterian Church – Est. 1749
Through the guidance of the Holy Spirit, the Bedford Presbyterian Church has ministered in the community for more than 260 years.
The Scot-Irish Presbyterians who settled in Bedford in 1737 first worshipped in private homes or barns or traveled 12 miles to Londonderry. By 1749, the townspeople asked for an organized church and the opportunity to call a minister. The first Meetinghouse was erected in 1755 on the site of the present Town Hall and was used for worship and town meetings for 75 years.
In 1826, some 56 shareholders formed a legal society called the Bedford Presbyterian Church and Society, its official name until the 1930s. This body prepared the plans and funding for our church building, completed in 1832.
Over the years, twenty-four pastors and two associate pastors have served here. The Rev. Doctor John Sawyer came to BPC in 2013 as Co-Pastor and now serves as Pastor.